The cost of NOT following Christ

I think I may know why we are lukewarm. I mean besides the obvious natural born sin nature thing, I think it’s that we focus on the wrong things even at church.  Take the ministry for example: Even when preaching a sermon, the focus tends to be the wrong one.  Take discipleship, for example. It seems to me, when the idea of the sermon is to encourage following Christ, most pastors preach it from a more negative view.  Maybe if we switched the idea around, and made it about the cost of following Christ, we make it the cost of not following Christ. I feel like this is more Biblical, because it doesn’t suggest that following Jesus is a bad thing, maybe you interpret it differently though, but to me it just seems to put  a negative view on following Christ.  If switched, the focus could bring forth more Biblical truths.  The question we have to ask ourselves at the end of the day isn’t why should I preach/follow Christ, rather why shouldn’t I?    When we ask why we should, we are putting into question the supreme worth of knowing Christ, which surpasses all does it not? 

 

 

Author: Thomas Brunt

TCC Student. Aspiring Leader. Christ Follower.

Post Comment: