Why Christians should obey Commandments, and how it’s different than other “religions”

Jesus Christ hasn’t left us with options to consider, he has left us with commandments to obey.   I’m not talking about the “You have to work you to earn something from God.” kind of obey commandments, but the “I’m doing this completely out of love, and because you first loved me, and you took my spot on that cross” kind of obey commandments.   – –   All religions believe they have commandments to obey to their God, but in Christianity, it is different because we aren’t doing it so we can be accepted by our God because we already are.  Look no further than the cross.  If you aren’t convinced why we as Christians should obey commandments, if that just sounds exactly like all the other religions.. Let’s look at that words of Jesus Christ from the Bible.

Whoever believes in my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”   John 14:21          “All who love me will do what I say.” John 14:23

Notice how in John 14:21 it doesn’t say “The one who obeys me will be accepted by my father.”  It says “the one who loves me.”     And if that’s not enough, just think of why you might obey your parents, not because if you do your chores you will be accepted by your parents, but you obey them because you love them.  It’s a simple as that.   We can’t work our way into Heaven, because we aren’t anywhere deserving for God’s kingdom, in the first place, but don’t forget you can’t earn anything from God because he created you and he already loves you, so just love him back.

Thomas Brunt is unashamed of the Gospel of  Jesus Christ.  You can email him: thesportsguy.brunt2@gmail.com

 

 

Author: Thomas Brunt

TCC Student. Aspiring Leader. Christ Follower.

Post Comment:

