Stop being a Christian.. and focus on discipleship

Greetings, no I didn’t forget about blogging, I’ve just been taking some time off from it, and I haven’t been sure what to write.

I’m not one of those bloggers that will blog up a 1000 word blog post, though I have in the past.. but it’s not something I muster the strength to do every time.  – – Anyway,  I kind of have an idea for a post, here.       I want you, if your a Christian reading this to stop it.  Stop being a Christian.  Apparently, the term “Christian” can mean just about anything or everything you want it to mean. It’s a broad term.   It’s not Christianity that I have a problem with, it’s society.. and what we have made the term out to be.  I think we need to go back to Biblical terms.  When we do  that with this term.. what do we find?  We find the word “Disciple” which according to a calculation I heard 294 times in the Bible.  The word “Christian” only appears three times in the Bible (Acts 11:28, Acts 25:28, and 1 Peter 4:16).   I’m not sure about you, but I’ll stick with the term “Disciple”

I’m interested to know what your plans for discipleship/disciple making are for this year, if you like you can email me them: thesportsguy.brunt2@gmail.com

Author: Thomas Brunt

TCC Student. Aspiring Leader. Christ Follower.

1 thought on “Stop being a Christian.. and focus on discipleship”

  1. I use “Christ-follower” to describe myself, rather than Christian. You’re right; “Christian” has been watered down and has too many nuances of meaning to really tell someone what you are with that one word. I like “disciple” too; I think it has the same quality of actually saying something, like “Christ-follower” does. Both terms basically say, “I follow Christ; I do as He says and live my life for Him.”

Post Comment:

