Discerning what God’s will is for me

So as you may or may not know, I’m a junior in High School now and that being said along with being a Catholic teenage male, I’m pondering the question that probably most male’s around my age (or older) in the Catholic church ponder: the priesthood.    First and far most, this is something that if it’s God’s will for me that I should seek this, then I.. don’t think there is any debate whether or not I should go through with it.   Regardless of  that big thing, I have a desire to serve God, to serve Christ’s church.  If you asked me what I wanted to do a year ago, I would have told you sports-writer,  watching, talking, and writing about sports was my passion.  Then, I became more serious about something important: my eternity.  After what was a crazy few months for me, I made a certain decision that I will probably write about later regarding my faith as a Catholic, I have felt a draw to the life of the priesthood, but I must know the difference between that and a calling, a calling to completely surrender everything at the cross.      Dear Heavenly Father,  I don’t know where I’m going now.  I may think I’m following you, but if I’m not I ask you Lord that you would open the eye’s of my heart up, awake my soul.   Make me be still and know that you are God as Pslam 46:10 says.   Lord, I know you have gifted me with talents, and in some way’s I do think not using them would be foolish of me.  I like to write. God it’s no secret you gave me passion to do these  things, but the beauty of serving other’s, serving the Church that Christ himself established now that’s a high calling.   Father,  if nothing else, I pray now that my desire to do good for you is pleasing.  I just want your will to be done in my life. 

 

Author: Thomas Brunt

TCC Student. Aspiring Leader. Christ Follower.

Post Comment:

